DSBA Leadership & Governance​

Empowering School Boards in Delaware

The Delaware Board of School Administrators serves as a crucial support system for Delaware School Boards, offering valuable assistance and guidance. DBSA functions as a platform to foster effective governance practices within school systems by providing resources, expertise, and training to board members.

By embracing collaboration and inclusivity, DBSA helps school boards establish policies, make informed decisions, and navigate challenges. Their commitment to promoting transparency, accountability, and equity ensures that Delaware School Boards are equipped with the necessary tools to enhance student achievement and community engagement. With DBSA’s unwavering support, Delaware School Boards are empowered to provide high-quality education and create nurturing environments for students to thrive.

0 Years of
0 Board

DSBA Executive Leadership Team

President – Ralph Ackerman (Brandywine)

1st Vice President – Dr. Janis Hanwell (Cape Henlopen)

2nd Vice President – Marcel Hayes (Sussex Tech)

Executive Director – David Tull

Treasurer – Jessica Marelli (Caesar Rodney)

Legislative Committee Chair – Matt Bucher (Milford)

Board of Directors 2023-2024

  • Appoquinimick – Tashiba Grahmam (Norm Abrams)
  • Brandywine – Ralph Ackerman
  • Caesar Rodney – Jessica Marelli (David Falling)
  • Cape Henlopen – Dr. Janis Hanwell (Julia A. Derrick)
  • Capital – Dr. Anthony J. DePrima (John C. Martin, Jr.)
  • Colonial – Ronald D. Handy, Sr. (Christine L. Smith)
  • Indian River – Leolga T. Wright
  • Lake Forest – Jordan McCloskey (Sarah Starkey)
  • Laurel – Brent Nichols (Jana Pugh)
  • Milford – Dr. Adam Brownstein (Victor “Butch” Elzey)
  • NCCVT – Mark S. Stellini (Nello M. Paoli, Jr.)
  • Polytech – Dr. Reginald J. Chandler, Sr. (Cynthia D. Brown)
  • Red Clay – Jason P. Casper (Catherine (Kathy) Thompson)
  • Seaford – Marcus Wright (Dr. Sara Savage)
  • Smyrna – Christopher Scuse (Dr. Charlie Wilson)
  • Sussex Tech – Marcel Hayes (Wilbur Kernodle, III
  • Woodbridge – Rita Hovermale (Julleanna Seely)
  • State Board – Shawn Brittingham
  • President – Ralph Ackerman
  • Legislative Chair – Matt Bucher
  • DCSOA – Dr. Shawn Larrimore
  • Executive Director – David Tull

Become a Member and Get Involved!

Together, let's elevate education for every child in our state! Learn more about membership and how you can contribute to strengthening Delaware's education system today!

Contact Us

Hours of Operation
Monday – Friday 9 AM – 4 PM

Copyright © 2023 Delaware School Boards Association - All Rights Reserved.